Special Education

Welcome to Special Education

SAU 29 ensures that all children who have disabilities, from 2.5 to age 21, who reside in the District, and who are in need of special education and related services are identified, located, and evaluated. This applies to all children with disabilities, including highly mobile children (such as migrant and homeless children), children placed in homes for children, health care facilities, or state institutions, and children who are suspected of being eligible under IDEA, even though they are advancing from grade to grade. In addition, this applies to those children attending approved, non-public private schools within the geographic boundaries of the District. 

SAU 29 has established referral procedures, which ensure that all students who are suspected or known to be a child with a disability are referred to the special education evaluation team for further evaluation. 

Any person may refer a child to the IEP team at any time by submitting a Referral for Special Services (available below) to the building principal or special education administrator. Referrals may be made for reasons including, but not limited to the following: 
  • Failing to pass a hearing or vision screening;
  • Unsatisfactory performance on group achievement test or accountability measures;
  • Receiving multiple academic and/or behavioral warnings or suspensions/ expulsions from a child care or after school program; and
  • Repeatedly failing one or more subjects. 
  • Inability to progress or participate in developmentally appropriate preschool activities; and 
  • Receiving services from family centered early supports and services.

Contact Us


Dr. Richard Matte Director of Student Services (603) 357-9001  rmatte@sau29.org
 Liz Dunn


Rand Lounsbury
 Special Education Administrator for Towns


Special Education Administrator
 Keene Elementary 
 (603) 357-9001


(603) 357-9002
 edunn@sau29.org



rlounsbury@sau29.org
 Joanne Mulligan  Director of Keene Preschool  (603) 354-2106   jmulligan@sau29.org 
 Jacqueline Cary  Court Liaison/ Out of District
 Placement Coordinator
 (603) 357-9001  jcary@sau29.org
 Ryanne Schoonover   Administrative Assistant/
 Medicaid Coordinator
 (603) 357-9001  rschoonover@sau29.org
 Liza Rice  Administrative Assistant  (603) 357-9001  lrice@sau29.org


 
Select events from other calendars  
Initial value
Daily View of Events Weekly View of Events Monthly View of Events Yearly View of Events Display Today's Events Print Export Events Subscribe to email alerts Subscribe via iCal/RSS
 

Special Education